BAFTA Film Awards 2022 Winners List – The Hollywood Reporter

    Home / Entertainment / BAFTA Film Awards 2022 Winners List – The Hollywood Reporter

BAFTA Film Awards 2022 Winners List – The Hollywood Reporter


Harnessing the power of the sandworms of Arrakis, Denis Villeneuve’s grand sci-fi spectacle dune sucked up the majority of honors at the BAFTA Film Awards on Sunday in London. But it was Jane Campion’s Gothic Western The Power of the Dog that took home the top prize.

as expected, dune – which went into the ceremony with 11 nominations – dominated the craft categories, winning five awards in total, including for cinematography, special visual effects, sound, original score and production design. The Power of the Dogwhich had eight nominations, won best film and best director.

Also claiming two wins was CODA – for best supporting actor (Troy Kotsur) and best original screenplay – and West side storyfor supporting actress (Ariana DeBose) and casting.

The other performance categories went to Will Smith for leading actor in King Richard and, in perhaps the evening’s most unexpected result, Joanna Scanlan for after love.

Rebel Wilson hosted the ceremony — a glitzy return to an in-person event following last year’s pandemic-impacted virtual edition — serving up a solid array of gags poking fun at the attendees and herself. Keeping things topical, she also used the opportunity to touch on the war in Ukraine, at one point giving Russian president Vladimir Putin the middle finger.

With the DGA Awards having taken place on Saturday and Critics Choice Awards later on Sunday, several of the winners weren’t present to collect their BAFTA awards, including Campion, Smith and Paul Thomas Anderson.

See the full list of winners below.

Best Film
Don’t Look Up
Licorice Pizza
The Power Of The Dog

leading actress
Joanna Scanlan, after love WINNER
lady gaga, House Of Gucci
Alana Haim, Licorice Pizza
emilia jones, CODA
Renate Reinsve, The Worst Person In The World
tessa thompson, Passing

The Power Of The DogJane Campion
after loveAleem Khan
drive my carRyûsuke Hamaguchi
HappeningAudrey Diwan
Licorice PizzaPaul Thomas Anderson
titanJulia Ducournau

Lead Actor
Will Smith, King Richard- WINNER
Adele Akhtar, Ali & Ava
Mahershala Ali, Swan Song
Benedict Cumberbatch, The Power Of The Dog
Leonardo Dicaprio, Don’t Look Up
Stephen Graham, Boiling Point

Animated film
encanto- WINNER
The Mitchells Vs The Machines

Production Design
dune, Patrice Vermette, Zsuzsanna Sipos – WINNER
CyranoSarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer
The French DispatchAdam Stockhausen, Rena Deangelo
Nightmare AlleyTamara Deverell, Shane Vieau
West side storyAdam Stockhausen, Rena Deangelo

Summer Of Soul (Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised) – WINNER

Becoming Cousteau
The Rescue

Original Screenplay
Licorice PizzaPaul Thomas Anderson – WINNER
Being The RicardosAaron Sorkin
BelfastKenneth Branagh
Don’t Look UpAdam McKay
King RichardZach Baylin

Adapted Screenplay
drive my carRyûsuke Hamaguchi
duneEric Roth, Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve
The Lost DaughterMaggie Gyllenhaal
The Power Of The DogJane Campion

Outstanding British Film
Belfast- WINNER
after love
Ali & Ava
Boiling Point
Everybody’s Talking About Jamie
House Of Gucci
Last Night In Soho
No Time To Die

Support Actor
Troy Kotsur, CODA- WINNER
mike fist, West side story
Ciaran Hinds, Belfast
Woody Norman, C’mon C’mon
Jesse Plemons, The Power Of The Dog
Kodi Smit-Mcphee, The Power Of The Dog

Film Not In The English Language
Drive My Car WINNER
The Hand Of God
Parallel Mothers
petite maman
The Worst Person In The World

costume design
CruellaJenny Beavan
CyranoMassimo Cantini Parrini
duneRobert Morgan, Jacqueline West
The French DispatchMilena Canonero
Nightmare AlleyLuis Sequeira

supporting actress
Ariana De Bose, West side story WINNER
Caitriona Balfe, Belfast
Jessie Buckley The Lost Daughter
Ann Dowd, Mass
aunjanue Ellis, King Richard
Ruth Negga, Passing

EE Rising Star Award (voted for by the public)
Lashana Lynch
Ariana DeBose
Harris Dickinson
Millicent Simmonds
Kodi Smit-Mcphee

Outstanding Debut By A British Writer, Director Or Producer
The Harder They FallJeymes Samuel (writer/director) [Also written by Boaz Yakin] – WINNER
after loveAleem Khan (writer/director)
Boiling PointJames Cummings (writer), Hester Ruoff (producer) [also written by Philip Barantini and produced by Bart Ruspoli]
Keyboard FantasiesPosy Dixon (writer/director), Liv Proctor (producer)
PassingRebecca Hall (writer/director)

West side storyCindy Tolan
Boiling PointCarolyn Mcleod
duneFrancine Maisler
The Hand Of GodMassimo Appolloni, Annamaria Sambucco
King RichardRich Delia, Avy Kaufman

Make Up & Hair
The Eyes Of Tammy FayeLinda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram, Justin Raleigh – WINNER
CruellaNadia Stacey
CyranoAlessandro Bertolazzi, Siân Miller
duneLove Larson, Donald Mowat
House Of GucciFrederic Aspiras, Jane Carboni, Giuliano Mariana, Sarah Nicole Tanno

original score
duneHans Zimmer
Being The RicardosDaniel Pemberton
Don’t Look UpNicholas Britell
The French DispatchAlexandre Desplat
The Power Of The DogJonny Greenwood

duneMac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Doug Hemphill, Theo Green, Ron Bartlett – WINNER
Last Night In SohoColin Nicolson, Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin, Dan Morgan
No Time To DieJames Harrison, Simon Hayes, Paul Massey, Oliver Tarney, Mark Taylor
A Quiet Place Part IIErik Aadahl, Michael Barosky, Brandon Proctor, Ethan Van Der Ryn
West side storyBrian Chumney, Tod Maitland, Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom

No Time To DieTom Cross, Elliot Graham – WINNER
BelfastÚna Ní Dhonghaile
duneJoe Walker
Licorice PizzaAndy Jurgensen
Summer Of Soul (Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised)Joshua L. Pearson

dune, Greig Fraser
Nightmare AlleyDan Laustsen
No Time To DieLinus Sandgren
The Power Of The DogAri Wegner
The Tragedy Of MacbethBruno Delbonnel

Special Visual Effects
duneBrian Connor, Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Gerd Nefzer – WINNER
free guySwen Gillberg, Brian Grill, Nikos Kalaitzidis, Daniel Sudick
Ghostbusters: AfterlifeAharon Bourland, Sheena Duggal, Pier Lefebvre, Alessandro Ongaro
The Matrix ResurrectionsTom Debenham, Hew J Evans, Dan Glass, JD Schwaim
No Time To DieMark Bokowski, Chris Corbould, Joel Green, Charlie Noble

British Short Film
The Black CopCherish Oteka
FemmeSam H. Freeman, Ng Choon Ping, Sam Ritzenberg, Hayley Williams
The PalaceJo Prichard
StuffedTheo Rhys, Joss Holden-Rea
Three Meetings Of The Extraordinary CommitteeMichael Woodward, Max Barron, Daniel Wheldon

British Short Animation
Do Not Feed The Pigeons, Jordi Morera – WINNER
Affairs Of The Art
Joanna Quinn, Les Mills
Night Of The Living DreadIda Melum, Danielle Goff, Laura Jayne Tunbridge, Hannah Kelso

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *